Writing 101: Day 2 – A room with a view

The place I’d like to go right now is not physical, it doesn’t have a geographic location, it doesn’t even have a definite appearance. It does, however, occupy one of our Terran dimensions. I wistfully long to visit more often than I ought but especially when life is feeling hectic, stormy or oppressive.

I’ve discovered I can go there anytime I like and stay as long as I need. Breathe in deep and replenish my soul then set my face into the wind upon my return.

To compare this place to Terran havens would depend on what I are seeking at the time. When its warmth and peace and tranquility, the vision includes a warm seafront, with the sea gently lapping at the sand. Stepping one foot before the other on the sand feels warm and natural. Laying in the shade of wide leaved trees, the air moves just lightly enough to keep your skin comfortable, the soft crests of the sea impact with the shore just firmly enough to feel its confidence, the horizon is just distant enough to leave you feeling small.

Other times, when tearful emotions call, there is a powerful, endless cascading waterfall. Sounds of rushing water fill your thoughts. Melodic sounds of birds flitting between trees, melodies of colours from the flowers and plants nearby while you’re nestled in the comfortably curved and hugging space between a trunk and branch.

Sometimes the timeless setting is held in a snapshot of a moment of perfect beauty. Like overlooking a wild sea as the sun drops to the horizon reaching a changing crescendo of reds and oranges rippling across soft clouds and quickly fading to blues and purples. Hand clasped in hand together gaping in awe and trying to etch the image in memories.

In this haven, no one can intrude with electronic bleeps and rattles, demanding that you care about each successive piece of news, to know where and when you’ll be on some date 2 weeks away or filling your thoughts with tales of sadness from across the world. None of that comes in. Nothing can break through the portal. Complete safety and solitude.

Even better is the ability to step away from time’s linear line. Press pause and drift away.

My haven is in an idyllic time bubble.

Leave a comment